Psalms and Proverbs

This week you will read a few passages from the Psalms and Proverbs.  While these books are a great treasure within God’s word, they require an adjustment in your thinking when we you read them.

The Psalms are primarily poems many of which were written to be sung.  In order to get your mind around this necessary shift consider how simply speaking/reading your favorite love song, fight song or even “happy birthday” instead of singing it changes the impact of the meaning that is conveyed.  Much of the meaning of a song is conveyed by the emotion of the melody.  Nonetheless, the Psalms given us “God approved words” to give expression to our emotions and can therefore be a great blessing to our faith and prayers in particular.

The Proverbs are statements of general wisdom from a father (Solomon) to his son.  As general statements of wisdom they are not meant to be understood as literal promises that will always come true.  Instead, they describe general cause and effect relationships in our world.

With that in mind, consider Proverbs 3:1-2.  How would you support this statement as generally true. (ie. those who are not gluttonous generally have better health) What exceptions have you seen to this statement of truth?

In addition to answering this question, I’d love to hear what some of your favorite Psalms are and why?

Categories: E100 | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Psalms and Proverbs

  1. Clint, I think you meant Proverbs 23:21 for the gluttony reference. I would agree that all of the statements in Proverbs are true. Most of them seem to be contrasting the results we see from our intention to indulge in self, vs. obey God’s commands. Some specific behavior may not be considered a sin (or at least unwise) but if we look at the underlying motivation, we see whether it is done to feed our ego, or glorify/be faithful to God. The wise man has the right underlying motivation. One of my favorite Psalms is Psalm 5:1-3 because I heard it put to music once, and it has stuck with me.

  2. Ginny McCook

    Hi Clint: Kind of tough getting back to this after being away but one of my favorite Psalms is 22 – a foreshadowing of Jesus’ suffering so appropriate during Lent. One can feel the emotion!

  3. Jeanne Hamilton

    Proverbs 3: 1-2 tells me that my life will be free from anxiety, giving me peace with God and within myself, if I rely on God’s commandments, have a personal relationship with HIm, and am totally honest in my relations with others. For example, those who are wise in their spending and saving habits can enjoy a comfortable and secure life. (I know there might be exceptions, but it’s better than the feast or famine type of living that some have where they indulge for awhile and then scrape by.)
    Some people who acquire wealth and power can seem to be an exception. They project such a luxurious and happy lifestyle that looks appealing, but must really be full of anxiety and a craving for more.
    My favorite Psalm is Psalm 8 as read in The Message Bible. It starts out “God, brilliant Lord,” and goes on to describe God’s “handcrafted world” with “macro-skies, dark and enormous, handmade sky jewelry, and moon and stars mounted in their settings.” It tells us that we are in charge on this earth and is very uplifting.

  4. lynnesing1

    Sorry I had to miss Wed.’s meeting but I had to make a quick comment on last week’s study. One of my favorite chapters in the Bible is Proverbs 31 and I was wonderfing if the authors of this study were all men since it wasn’t included! Seriously, there are so many wonderful women at FPC that are living out this proverb. I revisit it regularly and pick a verse of two to concentrate on at differnt places in my life. V.17 jumped out at me this time as I struggle to get my exercising in – “She girds herself with strength and strengthens her arms”. Guess there are no more excuses for not hitting the weights if I want to be a Proverbs 31 women!

  5. Kay Heck

    Hi all!

    My very favorite Psalm of all is Psalm 118:24 “This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it!” Pretty easy to understand why I love it so! There are endless blessings to celebrate each and every day! And I praise Him for all of them!

    Welcome back, Clint! We go to the Cleveland Clinic for another Hip consultation in the wee hours of the morning, so I’ll have to miss Jump Start! 😦 But I’ll be there in spirit!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

